Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
Browsing Category


The Federal Government of Nigeria is the federal government for the Federal Republic of Nigeria, a federation in West Africa, composed of 36 states, who share sovereignty with the federal government and 1 federal territory administered solely by the federal government.

The federal government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the Constitution of Nigeria in the National Assembly, the President, and the federal courts, including the Supreme Court, respectively.

Presidential elections of Nigeria, 2015

Margin: 2,571,759
Muhammadu BuhariAll Progressives Congress15,424,92153.96
Goodluck JonathanPeople’s Democratic Party12,853,16244.96
Adebayo AyeniAfrican Peoples Alliance53,5370.19
Ganiyu GaladimaAllied Congress Party of Nigeria40,3110.14
Sam EkeCitizens Popular Party36,3000.13
Rufus SalauAlliance for Democracy30,6730.11
Mani AhmadAfrican Democratic Congress29,6650.10
Allagoa ChineduPeoples Party of Nigeria24,4750.09
Martin OnovoNational Conscience Party24,4550.09
Tunde Anifowose-KelaniAccord Alliance22,1250.08
Chekwas OkorieUnited Progressive Party18,2200.06
Comfort SonaiyaKOWA Party13,0760.05
Godson OkoyeUnited Democratic Party9,2080.03
Ambrose Albert OwuruHope Party7,4350.03
Invalid/blank votes844,519
Registered voters/turnout67,422,00543.65
Source: INEC

House of Representatives

All Progressives Congress225
People’s Democratic Party125
Other parties10
Invalid/blank votes
Registered voters/turnout
Source: Reuters Nigeria Tribune


All Progressives Congress60Increase19
People’s Democratic Party49Decrease15
Labour Party
Invalid/blank votes
Registered voters/turnout
Source: Naijaonpoint

States of Nigeria

Nigeria is made up of 36 states and 1 territory. They are: the Federal Capital Territory, Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, and Zamfara

Local governments

Each state is further divided into Local Government Areas (LGAs). There are 774 LGAs in Nigeria.[10] Kano State has the largest number of LGAs at 44, and Bayelsa State has the fewest at 9. The Federal Capital Territory of Abuja has 6 LGAs.[10] LGAs replaced the Districts that were the previous third-tier administrative units under the British government.